Benjamin,

Front end developer.

About me

In general

Hi my name is Ben, I am *insert ridiculous number here* years old and I live in England. I enjoy building websites and I’m lucky enough to do it for a living.

I taught myself HTML and CSS back in the day by downloading websites like the BBC and the changing the code to see what happened, this method of trial and error actually taught me quite a lot and was a very easy way of getting into basic development.

Me in Norway, Trolltunga.
Me in Norway, Trolltunga.

Education and career

For A-Levels I studied IT (B), Business Studies (C), Product Design (C) and General Studies (D), and it was at this point I knew I would end up in web development.

At University (UCE in Central Birmingham) I did a degree in ‘Information Systems with Multimedia’ and achieved a 1st Class Grade with Honours and then I got into the real world with a position at 3Sixty Displays, building their website along with other marketing material. Once this project had finished I began contracting at npower and I enjoyed it so much I went permie about 18 months later.

I was promoted to Senior Front End Developer at npower and after 7ish years i decided to leave for a new challenge, i began contracting straight away with my first placement being HomeServe (one of the UK’s largest home emergency repairs companies) where i am still currently based.

Scafell Pike.
Scafell Pike posing.

Interests

I consider myself to be a very active person, I go to the gym pretty much every day of the week doing a mixture of weights and boring old cardio. I also play in a 5 a side team which has its ups and downs, literally, relegation one season and promotion the next. I’m also a big follower of premiership football and am often called a glory hunter so I’ll let you guess which team I actually support. During the summer I try to play as much golf as possible and as I’m not particularly good at it I certainly get my monies worth from a typical round.

I love Science Fiction movies and book, anything to do with Ancient Rome, travelling to new countries and reading as many books as possible.